Serengeti as a UNESCO world heritage site

Serengeti as a UNESCO world heritage site

Serengeti as a UNESCO world heritage site

Serengeti national park is located in the northern part of Tanzania and it covers about 14,750 square kilometers. This national park was declared a UNESCO world heritage site in 1981 and Serengeti national park has a vast eco system which is made up of grassy plains, kopjes which are scattered rock outcrops around the national park and acacia woodlands.

Endemic bird species in Serengeti national park include the rufous tailed weavers, the Usambiro barbet, grey chested helmet shrike, grey breasted spurfowl and fishers love bird. The national park has over 500 bird species. 

The annual wildebeest migration also takes place in the grasslands of Serengeti national park and over 1.5 wildebeests can be seen accompanied by other wildlife species like zebras and gazelles as well as predators.

In the eco region of Serengeti national park, black rhinos can also be seen during a safari and other wildlife species in the national park include cheetahs, lions, leopards, spotted hyenas, jackals, caracals, serval cats, bat eared foxes, African civet, Thomson and Grants gazelles, buffalos, elands, waterbucks, topi, impalas, zebras and many others.

The eco region of Serengeti national park also includes Ngorongoro conservation area which is also a UNESCO heritage site and a protected area in the northern part of Tanzania. The Ngorongoro conservation area is shared by wildlife species and the Maasai pastoralists.

Serengeti national park is not only a UNESCO world heritage site but also a popular tourist attraction of Tanzania which is home to the big 5 such as elephants, lions, leopards, rhinos and buffalos. The national park is also home to one of the largest concentration of predators such as over 7500 hyenas and over 3000 lions and about 250 cheetahs.

The Serengeti eco system also consists of Maswa game reserve, Grumeti game reserve, Ikorongo game reserve and also extends to the Masai Mara national reserve in the south western part of Kenya.

Serengeti national park is a protected area which is made up of Serengeti west where the Grumeti river crossings take place during the wildebeest migration, the Serengeti plains and the northern Serengeti which is close to the Kenyan border.

This national park is also famous for its endless plains with dotted trees which can be seen during a safari around Serengeti national park which supports numerous wildlife species.

Serengeti national park is one of the natural wonders of Africa and the Serengeti plains are at an altitude of 1600 meters and 1800 meters above sea level. 

A number of rivers flow in the national park such as Grumeti river which is located in the western part of Serengeti national park. Other rivers in the national park include Seronera river and Mbalageti river.

Apart from the great wildebeest migration which is a major attraction for tourists on safari in Tanzania, other experiences in Serengeti national park include hot air balloon experiences, game drives, guided nature walks and bird watching experiences.

Hot air balloon safaris start early in the morning and offer an aerial view of the different attractions of Serengeti national park as well as wildlife species in the savannah plains of the national park.

Game drives are the popular wildlife viewing experience which is carried out during a safari around Serengeti national park. This activity is carried out in the morning, in the afternoon and in the evening.

Guided nature walks in the vast savannah plains of Serengeti national park is another way to experience the beauty of the national park during a safari and get a close encounter with the wildlife species on foot in the company of an armed ranger guide.

Bird watching is another safari experience in Serengeti national park which is best done during the wet season from November to April when both native and migrant bird species can be seen in different locations around the national park.

How to get to Serengeti national park

Serengeti national park which is part of the northern tourist circuit that also includes lake Manyara national park, Tarangire national park and Ngorongoro conservation area can be accessed by both air means or flight and also by driving.

The airstrips of Serengeti national park include Kogatende airstrip, Fort Ikoma airstrip, Seronera airstrip, Kirawira airstrip, Lobo airstrip and Kusini airstrip which are located in different parts of the national park.

Domestic flights are available from Kilimanjaro international airport and Arusha airport and are offered by different airlines to Serengeti national park. on arrival in the airstrips around Serengeti national park, guests are picked up by guides and some lodges in the national park also offer pick up and are located a short drive from the airstrips.

Driving is another way to get to Serengeti national park from Arusha and this takes about 7 hours to 8 hours of driving while enjoying views of the highlands around Karatu with coffee plantations and also making stops along the way in towns such as Karatu.

Visit Serengeti national park and enjoy an experience of exploring the oldest national park during a safari as you look out for various wildlife species.

book a trip